now i’d like to know can we get up and go?

August 4, 2008

I get really emotionally attached to places. Mostly because of the people, but often the familiarity of a space. There’s something comforting about feeling at home, even if you’re living out of a suitcase. Here are some places I miss:

The 10 Gartland House – It’s been awhile since I’ve been there, and I was just starting to feel at home when I stopped. It was a stinky, infinitely dirty (mostly) house that was either always way too cold or way too hot. There was a cat that lived next door that sometimes came by for a visit. I donated my guitar, Jason M., to their house, specifically to Max for his birthday. The boys of that house had a pretty solid impact on the last year of my life, and I kind of miss tending the bbq in the side yard… just when it was starting to get warm enough…

The Daieli – There’s a reason its called The Dopest Apartment I‘ll Ever Live In. I miss the floor to ceiling windows. I miss the abundance of people wanting to hang out. I miss the neighborhood – our building being huge and completely out of place. I miss having to flag down a car from across the street to take me home late at night. I also miss sleeping on my “bed”, the air mattress that also served as a couch.

The Pearl Penthouse – I miss my mom’s place. Mostly because she’s there, but also because of the sunshine and the park below. I miss wandering in the Pearl, and checking out new restaurants. I miss the fucking HUGE windows and the fact it’s always SO BRIGHT.

11 Ridgeway – because it’s MY apartment. JUST ME. and it’s perfect. It’s all of MY STUFF and I don’t have to do anything I don’t want to do there. Ever. I miss being lonely in my house and worrying about slipping in the tub and cracking my head open and nobody finding me until I’ve started decomposing and my neighbors upstairs finally notice. I also miss not being able to find my cell phone, and not having somebody available to call it to locate it.

Paris – Every time I’m there I feel completely disconnected from everything. I think I need to go by myself before I permanently move to ELLAY in January.

That’s all for now. Keeping busy. Staying smart. Eating my veggies. You know, the usual.

Leave a Reply

