In The First Place

November 16, 2008

I want you to watch me sleep
And in the morning tease me for leaving mascara on your sheets
They smell like you, but I’d like to leave part of me behind
Because I’m afraid if I don’t you’ll forget that I was ever there
Or that I ever mattered
In the first place

I dreamt about us last night
And I wasn’t lying next to you under five-hundred thread count
But under a few thousand stars, a limitless expanse
I hate remembering that I woke up and you weren’t there
Or that you ever mattered
In the first place

I abandoned us in my sleep
And forgot what it was like to be held that close
Or even hold someone else, not wanting to let go
I am trying to let go of that feeling of I can’t be me without you
Or that we ever mattered
In the first place

One Response to “In The First Place”

  1. Fabs said

    This is a little bit sad. 😦

    Somebody told me earlier this month,

    “Poetry is like Boggle; you only score a point if you come up with something that no one else has.”

    You’ve achieved that in the first stanza, well done.

    …uh, hope things pick up for you? I guess? :-/

Leave a Reply

