I’d rather do this here than tag all you squirrels and draw more attention to myself.

February 14, 2009

Think of 15 albums, CDs, LPs (if you’re over 40) that had such a profound effect on you they changed your life or the way you looked at it. They sucked you in and took you over for days, weeks, months, years. These are the albums that you can use to identify time, places, people, emotions. These are the albums that no matter what they were thought of musically shaped your world. When you finish, tag 15 others, including me. Make sure you copy and paste this part so they know the drill. Get the idea now? Good. Tag, you’re it!

1. Daft Punk “Discovery” – I have such vivid experiences with this album. It might be because they’re fairly recent memories, and it might be because they’re such intense life experiences. The concert a year ago really accelerated and extinguished everything…

2. Radiohead “OK Computer” – Everyone has their own first Radiohead experience, and this was mine. This album shook me to the core… even that song with the computer voice all the way through (“Fitter Happier”) that I used to skip over for the first couple of listens. No specific memories associated with it. Specific people and specific periods in my life, but no real moments. Blurs, really.

3. Modest Mouse “Good News for People Who Love Bad News” – I believe this started out as an impulse purchase CD. It was also my first real introduction to Modest Mouse. I had “Sad Sappy Sucker” – that was the first album I bought at Happy Trails. It had to be special ordered… those were the days when I couldn’t buy anything on the internet by myself. Anywho, GNPWLBN (hahah LAME) really held together as more of an album though.

4. Ben Gibbard “Home” – Although I’m certain if the MP3 of “Carolina” was on vinyl instead, the needle would have worn straight through the track. The rest of this album got a fair share of plays, but I’m certain the number of times I’ve played “Carolina” is double the times I listened to some of the albums on this list.

5. Justice “†” – Fresh off my first Daft Punk binge of 07, I was introduced to Justice. Actually, I had been introduced to Justice earlier in the year, but for some reason, they didn’t appeal to me as much. (Maybe their myspace said “Christian Band” and so I’d ignore it… haha.) Justice kind of upped the ante… Daft Punk suddenly felt vintage.

6. Dave Matthews Band “Everyday” – It was my sister’s CD, but it was the first Dave Matthews I had ever been exposed to. According to critics, it was one of their worst albums, but I still like some of the songs on that album to any of their “classics.”

7. Jason Mraz “Waiting for my Rocket to Come” – These memories are so strong that I can smell some of them. I used to quote these songs in love letters. God, I sound like I just named an indie band.

8. Death Cab for Cutie “Transatlanticism” -My favorite all the way through. It’s so cinematic.

9. Eric Clapton “Unplugged” – There’s really nothing I can say about it, except I remember making up the words so I could sing with “Layla” while I was still wearing Hanna Anderson, the poor man’s Lily Pulitzer, stripped pajamas.

10. Girl Talk “Unstoppable” and “Night Ripper” – I got these albums at the exact same time so they kind of all blur together. I couldn’t even tell you the name of my favorite song… they were all just mashed up together in a musical stew…

11. Gorillaz “Demon Days” – Ugh. Talk about incredibly personal musical experiences. This was everything from graduation to starting college, which for those of you who know me more personally are aware that this was a really huge change in my life… I mean, it’s a huge change for anyone, but it was the year my parents got divorced, I thought I had discovered what “love” meant, and I discovered the friends from high school that I ACTUALLY keep in touch with (and there are few). This was every bit of frustration and excitement. I bought an $80 to the show in Harlem and ended up not being able to go, but I’m almost okay with that. I felt like I was supporting art in some way.

12. Gym Class Heroes “As Cruel As School Children” – I think it took me seeing them live in a tiny bar with a really good friend that made them a solid part of my life. I have really wonderful moments associated with this album.

13. DangerMouse/Jay-Z “The Black Album” – I think this changed a lot of musical perspectives.

14. Jimmy Eat World “Bleed American” – Intense high school memories… like sophomore year… which I don’t remember much of at all.

15. The Killers “Hot Fuss” – This was my summer at USC, which was also a really crazy growth experience. I think I came back from that summer a changed woman… a really emotionally changed person. I thought I knew what I wanted to do with my life.

Okay done. I tag… EVERYONE!

Leave a Reply

