How to ruin a perfectly okay day

April 2, 2009

So sure, I’ve been struggling lately. But today was supposed to be great. It was my last day of work, I got to go home and play with my new wii fit, and everything was looking up.

And then it hit 6pm.
Not only did I do a shitty job on my last day (realized it, and then felt bad about it) I deposited my check and went to get on the train to go home. After getting on the downtown 5, we stopped at 42nd street and everyone and their mom gets on the train. It’s super crowded and then I hear something over my headphones…

This woman is tearing this younger woman apart. She’s telling her to move further into the train (if she moved any further into the train she’d be impregnated by the guy standing in front of her) but then this woman, who must have had a really shitty day to do this, starts going off about how she’s disrespectful and how she needs to take the “stupid little earbuds out of her ears” and then she starts talking to the women behind her about her in front of her. The women she’s complaining to are like “what are you talking about? oh? oh yeah. oh sure.” and this poor girl and I are rolling our eyes at each other and I really regretted not tearing this woman a new one. It wasn’t about not moving into the train further or whatever – I totally understand that! There have been several times I’ve been late because people won’t move further into the train and I’ve not been able to get on. okay I get it. but this woman is GOING OUT OF HER WAY to shout and humiliate this poor girl on the train. I just wanted to be like “Look, we wear out earbuds on the train because we don’t want to listen to crazy people like you after a long day.”

But like the girl who was having her ass handed to her, I was biting my tongue. But the eye contact between the two of us was enough to know what a pile of BS this woman was shelling out.

In my head, I keep telling myself “She’s had a bad day. Let it slide. Let it SLIIIIDE.”

So I transfer at Union Square and get on the L train. First, a woman tries to drag her child through the HALF CLOSED DOOR and the child is SCREAMING terrified. Finally she got off the train and waited for the next one. The train pulled out of the station, and then the child next to me starts screaming bloody murder.

God I just turned up the music and tried to go to my happy place. GODDDD HAPPY PLACE.

And then I got home, realized how alone I really am, and that I have a Drs appt at 8:15 tomorrow morning.

I kind of want to curl up in bed by myself. It makes me want to pick up old habits. God. Habits.

AND omg Seth McFarlane doing a Hulu commercial? Brilliant.

One Response to “How to ruin a perfectly okay day”

  1. matt said

    This blog’s great!! Thanks :).

Leave a Reply

